Services Results Automations Marketer Companion
AI Models · Comparison

Claude Opus 5.5 vs GPT-6 Sol: Which One Should You Actually Use?

Two labs, two new models, one Tuesday. Claude Opus 5.5 is the smartest model on the independent leaderboard. GPT-6 Sol costs half as much per token and about a quarter as much per task. Neither vendor's launch charts compared against the other's new model, so this page does: price, cost per finished task, independent scores, the benchmarks both report, and the use cases where each one wins.

Claude Opus 5.5 and GPT-6 Sol side by side on a balance of intelligence and cost, illustrating the September 2026 model comparison
Opus 5.5 is smarter. GPT-6 Sol is cheaper. Here is how much of each.

Quick share

Claude Opus 5.5 vs GPT-6 Sol: price, cost per task, benchmarks and a plan that uses both.

Get a summary from AI

Short on time? Open this article in an answer engine and have it summarised for you.

Confirmed Stated by Anthropic or OpenAI in their announcements or API documentation.

Observed Measured by an independent third party (Artificial Analysis, CodeRabbit) or visible in public data.

Reported Press, customer or community claims that nobody has independently checked.

Speculation Analysis, calculation or inference by the author.

The verdict in 10 lines
  • Opus 5.5 is smarter: 58 against 48 on the Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index. Observed
  • GPT-6 Sol is cheaper: $2 / $10 per million tokens against $4 / $20. That's exactly half. Confirmed
  • Per finished task, Sol is roughly 3.8× cheaper on that index: about $1.06 against about $4. Calculated from AA data
  • Cache reads cost the same: $0.20 per million on both. For agents with big reused prompts, the gap narrows. Confirmed
  • Very long prompts cost about the same: Sol doubles its input price above 272K tokens, while Opus 5.5 bills its full 1M context at standard rates. Confirmed
  • On the one benchmark both vendors report comparably, AutomationBench, Opus 5.5 scores 40.0% and Sol at xhigh 33.2%. Cross-vendor reading
  • Sol hallucinates much less than it used to (60% on AA-Omniscience, down from 92%). Opus 5.5 leads on reasoning, science and long agentic jobs. Observed
  • Opus 5.5 has the newer knowledge (June 2026 against April 2026) and the wider cloud availability. Sol has no migration pain. Confirmed
  • Pick Opus 5.5 for long-running coding agents, hard knowledge work and anything where a wrong answer is expensive.
  • Pick GPT-6 Sol for high-volume agent turns, cost-capped products and factual Q&A. Better still, route between them (section 8).

On 22 September 2026, Anthropic released Claude Opus 5.5. About ninety minutes later, OpenAI released GPT-6 Sol and its smaller sibling GPT-6 Luna. Both launches promised more intelligence for less money. Neither launch compared against the other, because neither model existed publicly when the charts were drawn.

This page does that comparison. It draws on the two full breakdowns on this site, Claude Opus 5.5 and GPT-6 Sol and Luna, and puts the two models side by side on the things that decide which one to pay for.

1. Same day, two different bets

The two launches make opposite bets about what the market wants.

Claude Opus 5.5GPT-6 Sol
The betTop-tier (Fable-class) capability at a mid-tier priceMid-tier capability at a budget price
Headline claim"Performs at the level of Claude Fable 5.1 on most work""Advancing the frontier on cost efficiency"
Price move−20% per token; −40% per workload (Anthropic's claim)−50% per token
Where it sitsBelow Fable 5.1 ($10 / $50)Below GPT-6 Astra ($10 / $50)
Rivals in the launch chartsFable 5.1, Opus 5, GPT-6 Astra, GPT-5.6 SolClaude Opus 5, Fable 5 / 5.1, GPT-6 Astra (low effort)

Both flagships above them, Fable 5.1 and GPT-6 Astra, cost the same $10 / $50. The real contest is one level down, and the two labs have placed their mid-level models at very different prices. Opus 5.5 is aimed up at the flagships, while Sol is aimed down at volume. Analysis

2. Side-by-side spec sheet

SpecClaude Opus 5.5GPT-6 Sol
Released22 Sep 202622 Sep 2026
API IDclaude-opus-5-5gpt-6-sol
Context window1,000,0001,050,000
Max output128K (300K on Batch, beta)128K
Knowledge cutoffJune 202620 April 2026
Input / output per MTok$4 / $20$2 / $10
Cache read$0.20$0.20
Cache write$5 (5 min) / $8 (1 h)$2.50
Long-prompt surchargeNone across 1M2× input, 1.5× output above 272K
Batch50% off50% off (Batch and Flex)
Fast mode$8 / $40, up to 2.5× faster (Claude API)2× standard rates
Thinking / effortAlways on; low → max; default mediumnone → max; default medium
Can reasoning be switched off?NoYes (none)
ModalitiesText and images in, text outText and images in, text out
CloudsClaude API, Bedrock, Google Cloud, Microsoft Foundry, Claude Platform on AWSOpenAI API (others not announced)
Consumer appsClaude apps and Claude CodeChatGPT Work and Codex (not regular Chat yet)
GitHub CopilotYes, on launch dayNot announced
System cardYes, dedicatedNo; the launch post links to Astra's card

All from the vendors' documentation. Confirmed The GitHub Copilot and system-card rows reflect what was public on 23 September. Observed

3. Price: the gap is smaller than "half" suggests

Sol's list price is exactly half of Opus 5.5's. What you actually pay depends on the shape of your workload. Here are three common shapes, calculated at list prices. Calculation

Shape A: a coding agent with a big reused prompt

1,000 turns, each with a 50K-token cached prefix, 10K fresh input tokens and 3K output tokens.

ModelCachedFreshOutputTotal
Claude Opus 5.5$10$40$60$110
GPT-6 Sol$10$20$30$60 (−45%)
GPT-6 Luna$0.50$1$1.50$3

Shape B: output-heavy generation

1,000 requests with 20K input and 20K output tokens each (reports, long code files, content drafts).

ModelInputOutputTotal
Claude Opus 5.5$80$400$480
GPT-6 Sol$40$200$240 (−50%)

Shape C: one huge document

A single 400K-token prompt with a 5K-token answer.

ModelInputOutputTotal
Claude Opus 5.5400K × $4 = $1.605K × $20 = $0.10$1.70
GPT-6 Sol (>272K rate)400K × $4 = $1.605K × $15 = $0.075$1.675 (−1.5%)
Three cost comparisons: cached coding agent Opus $110 versus Sol $60; output-heavy work $480 versus $240; one 400,000-token document $1.70 versus $1.675
Three workloads, three price gaps: Sol saves 45%, 50% or almost nothing, depending on the request.
What the three shapes tell you

Sol's advantage is largest on output-heavy work (50%), smaller for cached agents (45%), and almost nothing on single prompts above 272K tokens. And none of this counts how many tokens each model needs to finish the job, which is where the next section changes the picture again.

To run these numbers with your own token counts, use the Opus 5.5 vs GPT-6 Sol cost calculator.

A per-token caveat

Anthropic and OpenAI use different tokenizers, so "a million tokens" isn't the same amount of text on each. Anthropic itself notes that its current tokenizer produces about 30% more tokens for the same text than its older one. Confirmed Cross-vendor per-token comparisons are therefore approximate. The only reliable comparison is cost per finished task on your own inputs. Analysis

4. Intelligence per dollar

Artificial Analysis is the one independent source that has run both models through the same ten evaluations. Observed

Metric (max effort)Claude Opus 5.5GPT-6 Sol
Intelligence Index58 (#1)48
Output tokens per task~119,000~31,000
Cost per task~$4 (derived)$1.06
Humanity's Last Exam61.4% (record)Not yet published
Terminal-Bench 4.059.6%Not yet published
AA-Omniscience hallucination rateNot yet published60% (answers 83% of questions)

Opus 5.5's cost per task is derived from AA's published totals: $8,708 to run the index, 260M output tokens, and The Decoder's figure of ~119K output tokens per task, which works out to about $4 per task. Calculation

At max effort, then, Opus 5.5 delivers 10 more index points for about 3.8× the cost per task, mainly because it thinks for about four times as many tokens. Whether that's worth it depends on what a wrong answer costs you:

One more nuance: those numbers are at max effort. Both models default to medium, and Anthropic's early-access partners reported Opus 5.5 using 20–60% fewer tokens than Opus 5 at normal settings. Reported At medium effort the per-task gap is probably smaller than 3.8×, but nobody has published independent medium-effort numbers yet. Speculation

At max effort, Claude Opus 5.5 scores 58 on the Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index at about $4 derived cost per task; GPT-6 Sol scores 48 at $1.06 per task
Independent comparison at max effort: 10 more index points for Opus 5.5 at about 3.8 times the cost per task. The Opus cost is derived in the article.

5. Benchmarks both sides report

The two launch posts barely overlap. Where they do, the numbers aren't always comparable. Here's everything that can be lined up, with a note on how much weight each comparison can bear.

BenchmarkOpus 5.5GPT-6 SolComparable?
AutomationBench40.0% (Anthropic)33.2% at xhigh (OpenAI)Fairly. Both vendors report Opus 5 at exactly 26.9% and Fable 5.1 at 31.4%, which suggests the same benchmark version
FrontierCode 1.154.4%"Matches Claude Fable 5.1 xhigh" (Anthropic lists Fable 5.1 at 50.3%)Roughly. Implies Sol at about 50%, but the effort settings may differ
OSWorld 2.081.8% (partial credit)60.5% (offline set, partial reward)No. Different task sets; don't subtract these
Terminal-Bench 4.066.4% (Anthropic) / 59.6% (AA)Not reported—
GDPval-AA v2.11846 Elo~100 Elo below GPT-5.6 Sol (AA)Directionally: Opus 5.5 leads clearly
DeepSWE v1.1Not reported68.8% (max)—
Agents' Last ExamNot reported56.4% (max)—

Vendor figures: Confirmed. The comparability judgements are editorial: Speculation. OpenAI's chart puts Sol at $0.27 per AutomationBench task. Anthropic didn't publish a per-task cost for Opus 5.5 on that benchmark, so the one clean like-for-like score comes without a price. Observed

Why cross-vendor launch tables can't simply be subtracted, harnesses and all, is covered in the GPT-6 Astra benchmarks teardown. The same rules apply here.

6. Category by category

CategoryWinnerWhy
Long-running coding agentsOpus 5.5Top Terminal-Bench and FrontierCode results; migrations run over hours (680K lines in under a day); CodeRabbit measured 76.9% recall on hard bugs, against a 38.5% baseline
High-volume coding turnsGPT-6 SolCoding index 57 at $2.99 per coding task (AA); half the token price; drop-in API swap
Business workflow automationOpus 5.5 on quality, Sol on costAutomationBench 40.0% vs 33.2%; Sol at $0.27 per task
Knowledge work (reports, analysis, decks)Opus 5.5GDPval-AA 1846 Elo and AA-Briefcase 1,822; Sol dropped ~100 Elo on GDPval
Factual Q&AGPT-6 Sol (provisional)Hallucination rate down to 60% and half the factual errors (OpenAI); no matching Opus 5.5 figure published
Computer useOpus 5.5 (provisional)81.8% on OSWorld 2.0 on Anthropic's set, though not comparable with Sol's offline 60.5%; OpenAI itself points to Astra for computer use
Writing qualityTieBoth launches promise less jargon and more direct answers; too early to judge
Very long documents (>272K)Opus 5.5Same price as Sol above 272K, with the stronger model
Recent knowledgeOpus 5.5June 2026 cutoff against April 2026
Charts and screenshotsOpus 5.5 (provisional)Chartography 89.0%; Anthropic reports much better dense-chart reading without tools
Migration effortGPT-6 SolModel-ID swap only; Opus 5.5 has four breaking API changes
Latency controlGPT-6 SolCan switch reasoning off (none); Opus 5.5 always thinks
Safety transparencyOpus 5.5Dedicated system card and disclosed evaluation-awareness caveat; Sol has no card of its own
Security and biology workCheck bothOpus 5.5 reroutes most cyber tasks to Opus 4.8 without verification; Sol's safeguard profile is unpublished
Enterprise cloud choiceOpus 5.5Available on AWS, Google Cloud and Microsoft from day one

Evidence levels for each row are given in the two source articles. The "Winner" column is an editorial judgement. Opinion

7. Which one should you use?

If you're…UseBecause
Running overnight or multi-hour coding agentsOpus 5.5Failures are expensive; the stronger model finishes more jobs
Building an IDE assistant or chat-coding productGPT-6 SolMany short turns; price and latency dominate
Producing client-facing reports or analysisOpus 5.5The GDPval lead is large; editing time costs more than tokens
Running support or FAQ botsGPT-6 Sol, or LunaBetter factuality and a cap on per-conversation cost
Doing SEO at scale (classification, extraction, meta drafts)GPT-6 Luna$0.10 / $0.50; neither big model is needed
Doing SEO strategy (audits, content briefs, competitor analysis)Opus 5.5Judgement-heavy; newer knowledge cutoff
Analysing 300K+ token documents or codebasesOpus 5.5No long-context surcharge, so it costs the same as Sol there
A startup on a fixed monthly API budgetGPT-6 SolRoughly a quarter of the cost per task at max effort
An enterprise standardised on AWS or Google CloudOpus 5.5Native availability on both
A heavy ChatGPT userGPT-6 Sol in Work and CodexIncluded in your plan
A heavy Claude userOpus 5.5Already the default, with higher usage limits

8. The best answer: use both

For most teams, the real answer isn't choosing a winner. It's routing each request to the cheapest model that can do it well. A sensible four-tier setup as of September 2026: Recommendation

  1. GPT-6 Luna ($0.10 / $0.50): classification, extraction, summaries, routing decisions and bulk transforms.
  2. GPT-6 Sol ($2 / $10): routine agent turns, IDE chat, support answers, first drafts.
  3. Claude Opus 5.5 ($4 / $20): long-running agents, code review of risky changes, final-quality reports, and documents over 272K tokens.
  4. Fable 5.1 or GPT-6 Astra ($10 / $50): the hardest reasoning, and Astra for computer use, only when tier 3 fails your evals.
Four-tier model routing plan: Luna for bulk extraction, Sol for routine agent turns, Opus 5.5 for high-stakes work and long documents, and Fable or Astra only for the hardest reasoning
An editorial routing plan: start with the lowest-cost model that meets the task's quality bar, then escalate when evaluations justify it. Prices are input/output per million tokens.

Two practical notes. Opus 5.5's thinking blocks can't be passed to OpenAI models, and model switches drop reasoning context, so route between tasks rather than mid-conversation. Also cache aggressively on both: at $0.20 per million cached tokens, they cost exactly the same for the part of the prompt you reuse. Confirmed pricing

The cost-per-finished-task method behind this setup is explained in what AI models actually cost per task.

9. What the internet is saying about the showdown

The story most people are telling is "Anthropic went for the top, OpenAI went for volume". That's broadly right, as long as you remember that Sol's cheaper sibling, Luna, may end up the more important model of the day. Editorial view

10. A two-hour head-to-head you can run

  1. Pull 20 real tasks from last month: 10 hard ones and 10 routine ones.
  2. Run each on Opus 5.5 and GPT-6 Sol at medium and high effort. That's 80 runs.
  3. Log cached, fresh and output tokens, the number of turns, wall-clock time, and whether each task was actually finished.
  4. Work out the cost per finished task for each model, effort level and task type.
  5. Blind-rate the written outputs; both launches claim better writing.
  6. Note any refusals or silent reroutes, especially for security-adjacent work.
  7. Set routing rules: the cheapest model that clears your quality bar for each task type.

Expect the hard tasks to favour Opus 5.5 and the routine ones to favour Sol. The value of the exercise is finding exactly where your cut-off lies. Expectation

11. Scorecards side by side

CategoryClaude Opus 5.5GPT-6 Sol
Raw intelligence9.56.5
Agentic coding9.57.5
Knowledge work97
Factuality8 (not measured independently yet)8.5
Price per token7.59.5
Cost per finished task79
Developer experience6.58.5
Transparency and safety85.5
Availability and ecosystem97
Overall8.7 / 107.8 / 10

These are editorial scores on day two, consistent with the scorecards in the two source articles. Opinion A higher overall score doesn't make Opus 5.5 the right choice for every workload: on a volume-and-budget scorecard, Sol wins easily.

12. Frequently asked questions

Is Claude Opus 5.5 better than GPT-6 Sol?

On intelligence, yes. Artificial Analysis scores Opus 5.5 at 58 and GPT-6 Sol at 48, and Opus 5.5 leads on AutomationBench (40.0% vs 33.2%) and knowledge-work benchmarks. GPT-6 Sol is half the price per token and roughly a quarter of the cost per task at max effort, so it's better value for high-volume work.

Which is cheaper, Opus 5.5 or GPT-6 Sol?

GPT-6 Sol: $2 / $10 per million input / output tokens against $4 / $20. Cache reads cost the same ($0.20). Above 272K input tokens, Sol's rates rise to 2× input and 1.5× output, which makes very long prompts cost about the same on both.

Which is better for coding?

Opus 5.5 for long-running, complex agentic coding, where it leads on Terminal-Bench 4.0 and FrontierCode. GPT-6 Sol for high-volume, shorter coding turns, where its coding index of 57 at about $3 per coding task is strong value.

Which has the bigger context window?

GPT-6 Sol, marginally: 1,050,000 tokens against 1,000,000. Both allow 128K output tokens. Opus 5.5 charges the same rate across its whole window; Sol charges more above 272K input tokens.

Which has more recent knowledge?

Claude Opus 5.5, with a June 2026 knowledge cutoff against GPT-6 Sol's 20 April 2026. GPT-6 Luna's cutoff (18 May 2026) is also later than Sol's.

Did OpenAI compare GPT-6 Sol with Opus 5.5?

No. OpenAI published about ninety minutes after Anthropic, and its charts compare Sol with Claude Opus 5, Fable 5 and Fable 5.1. Anthropic's charts compare Opus 5.5 with the older GPT-5.6 Sol, not GPT-6 Sol.

Can I use both Opus 5.5 and GPT-6 Sol together?

Yes, and for most teams that's the best approach: route routine and high-volume work to GPT-6 Sol or Luna, and hard, long-running or high-stakes work to Opus 5.5. Route between tasks rather than mid-conversation, because reasoning context doesn't carry across vendors.

Which is better in the consumer apps?

Opus 5.5 is the default in the Claude apps and Claude Code, with higher usage limits. GPT-6 Sol is available in ChatGPT Work and Codex on paid plans, but not yet in regular ChatGPT conversations, which still use GPT-5.6 Sol.

Work with me

Be the source both models cite

Jayant Solanki

I'm Jayant Solanki, an SEO, GEO and automation strategist working with eCommerce, local-service and global brands. Claude and ChatGPT pick sources differently, and a brand can be cited in one and invisible in the other. I build sites that work for both.

A GEO engagement typically covers:

  • Cross-model visibility: where you're cited in Claude, ChatGPT, Gemini and AI Overviews
  • A retrieval audit: crawler access, rendering and indexation on revenue pages
  • Content restructured so a model can lift a specific claim cleanly
  • Post-cutoff topic mapping for each model's knowledge window
  • Measurement that honestly separates agent traffic from human traffic

Ranked #1 for "metal buildings" · +30% YoY organic traffic · Evidence-labelled research

Sources

Jayant Solanki

Jayant Solanki

AI-Ready SEO, GEO & AIO strategist based in Indore, India, working with eCommerce, local-service and global brands across India, the UAE and the US. This comparison is maintained and will be updated when independent medium-effort results and matched head-to-head tests are published.

Google Analytics Certified (2026–2027) · verify

More about Jayant →